Jill Bilcock: The Art Of Film Editing

Editing is my favourite part of a movie or video creation. I enjoy putting the shots in order, choosing the ones with the best takes, changing the color, adding transitions and sounds and music. However, I’m just beginning to study about it, so I know that I need to study a lot and learn from the ones who master this area. One example of a great editor is the Australian Jill Bilcock, who I heard about only recently when I’ve been to ACMI. I was trying to find some interviews with her when I found this short documentary where she explains how was her beginning in this industry, her opinion about what are the editors’ responsibilities and some of her works. From all her comments in this documentary,  I found out these three ones below more interesting:

• She comments that the beginnings of the movies need to be beyond sensational. It’s the moment that you establish its style.

• She believes that for someone to be an editor, it’s necessary to be very patient, has a great sense of observation and put together something that can even surprise the director.

• In her opinion, feature films are changing but the important aspect is that people can still be able to come out with stories that emotionally touches the audience or connects with them, and this is all she cares about, the audience.

Jill mentions that editing is all about rhythm and the emotion of the stories, so I hope to always keep this in mind as a way to add it to my own work.
The documentary will be available on this website until16/06/2017: http://ab.co/2qNke2e

Leave a comment